13 of My Favorite Words

Hey guys! I have no idea what happened, but I jumped up four subscribers last month. That’s super awesome, and it hasn’t happened since the first year of this blog. So, as a celebration. I am putting out this completely random post. It has no real purpose, unless you are a word nerd like me. But, I though, why not?

I made this post listing my favorite words. Some I like because of the meaning. Others I enjoy simply because they are fun to say. Either way, enjoy reading the words and their meanings. Use them to spice up your vocabulary. (Before you call out my usage of some British words/spelling, the language fused into my vocabulary when I lived in Europe.)

 

Rapscallions: mischievous individuals; rascals.

Hiraeth: a longing, grief, and homesickness for a place that doesn’t exist anymore, never existed, or never will exist.

Discombobulate: to cause confusion.

Malarkey: foolish words and ideas.

Octothorpe: the pound sign, also called the number sign or hashtag.

Shenanigans: tricky behaviour; tomfoolery; mischief.

Nebula: a cloud of ionized gasses and dust in space with luminescent qualities.

Humorous: causing great amusement; funny.

Blimey: an exclamation that can be used for just about any emotion (typical of British English).

Flummoxed: causing such a state of confusion and flusteredness that one cannot think straight.

Triskaidekaphobia: an irrational fear of the number 13. (If you have it, sorry for this post.)

Soliloquy: a grand speech to oneself in which the speaker is unaware or seemingly unaware of any people who can hear them.

Bibliophile: a person addicted to books.

 

All of these words are fun and great to slip into conversation. Octothorpe has been my favorite for a little while. We will see how long it lasts. I learn new words most every time that I read a book.

What about you? What is/are your favorite word/s right now?

Let me know in the comments section below!

-KD

2 thoughts on “13 of My Favorite Words

Leave a comment